Why You Should Do The Things You Desire

Kioja Esigie
2 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Start doing the things you love today

Jerrylane’s hunched-backed bee

Recently I attended an event at The Sidewalk Lounge, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria. It’s an event where you get to sit with a group of people, and with an instructor, you paint an image.

You have a glass by your side filled with a drink. “Sip and Paint”.

Whatever is in your glass is up to you. But the image is the same for everyone.

This event is open to anyone. The organizers handle the account paint andsip.with.o on Instagram.

For me, painting my work is something I have always wanted to do. Discovering about the event, I got inspired to get a ticket.

When I arrived at the venue, I was seated with other people. After a while, we began sketching out a butterfly on our canvas. The instructor put us through until we started painting the background for our image, and then we finally got to the details of the picture.

All through that, you could sense a specific type of joy in the atmosphere. There were laughs and different beautiful works of art. We drank and shared comments.

In all, you could recognise that the process was essential to everyone. The joy of painting was a wonderful experience.

Everyone has topics and things they’re curious about. Somehow you’ve been unable to explore your curiosities due to fear or insecurity.

But it’s also important to note that if you never try, you’ll never know how it feels.

My first ever painting hangs on my wall today. I stepped out to create beautiful memories for myself.

It was the process for me. The first time painting, I enjoyed the process.

I painted a butterfly, but somehow it morphed into something else. I recognise that it is within my power to do things I desire.

I hope that my hunched-backed bee, which morphed from a butterfly, inspires you to do the things you love. Trust the process. As Stacy London said;

“Don’t let fear or insecurity stop you from trying new things. Believe in yourself. Do what you love. And most importantly, be kind to others, even if you don’t like them.”

Final Thoughts

To experience the things you desire, you need to step out and work towards them.

The power is within you.

No matter your circumstances, there are things that you desire that are within your reach. All you need to do is try, believe in yourself, and trust the process.

--

--

Kioja Esigie

I write about the human potential and how we can enhance our lives with insights from ancient wisdom and psychology.